Spicy chickpea & avocado salad // w. all the trimmings – Recipe

Okay, so this post is a slight follow on from my last which if you scroll down declares my salad obsession! I am someone that can eat the same kind of things a lot and not get bored of them, but they still need to be tasty and I feel like salad based meals can easily become very boring. So, because I have quite strict dietary requirements (both being vegan and on a health & fitness ‘journey’ right now) I find meals like this one so simple and easy for me to prepare.

I eat a lot of these kinds of food mixes anyways, however recently I’ve been eating a lot of salad or raw green based meals simply because I love haveing giant portions and I can do that without all the guilt.

20050440_1805037916474212_1436282116_o

 

So, as you can see this super tasty meal was made up of quite basic ingredients but definitely hit the spot – even lasted us most of the evening up until I whipped out the ginger dark chocolate as a late night movie snack…

Spicy chickpea & avocado salad

  • Spinach (1/2 bag)
  • Red onion (1/2 diced)
  • Plum tomatoes (1/3 box)
  • Black olives
  • Avocado (1/2 large)
  • Chickpeas (1 can – pan roasted with spices)
  • Lime (1/2 – squeezed as dressing)

Sweet potato rounds 

3 small sweet potatoes cut into slices, drizzled with oil and seasoning and baked until ready

Herby cous cous 

  • Wholemeal cous cous
  • Parsley
  • Flora avocado & lime spread
  • Sea salt & cracked black pepper

For cous cous I just empty my amount into a bowl with the parsley, then just cover it with boiling water and leave it for a few minutes. Then take a fork to separate it and a few scrapes of the avocado butter and seasonings.

For the hummus, I just buy an organic plain pot but add extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, black pepper and a dash of fresh lime.

 

G. 

Leave a Reply

