Day in the life // date day & salad obsession

WB: 10.07.17

The most reoccurring factors in my life recently have been deciding what I’m going to be eating (most importantly when), trying to squeeze in workouts and dragging myself to work. Safe to say the exciting fun filled best last Summer ever here goal is failing. But attempting to be positive about the situation; at least I’ve been making money and for the most part eating well and getting my health levels up again. Plus, considering it’s supposed to be the middle of Summer I literally feel like I fell asleep one day and woke up in October, this must be one of the least weather appropriate Summer’s I have ever had.

Can I just say in my defence, considering it’s supposed to be the middle of Summer I literally feel like I fell asleep one day and woke up in October, this must be one of the least weather appropriate Summer’s I have had in forever.

Getting back and trying to focus on my positivity levels, at the start of the week I had 2 lovely (and long overdue) days with my boyfriend! Unfortunately, I had to work 7-3 on Monday as it was a last minute stay announcement – but oh well, literally anytime is better than what we’ve had to have recently since our schedules have been in totally different directions. However Tuesday was our little ‘date day’ together, and for once it was such a nice day – I could actually call it Summery – so I refused to let us just bum about and for once go out and cross something off our to-do list.

20048993_1805010659810271_10064181_o
Lunch @ Folk Café, Dundee

After a nice long lie together and discussions of our big plan of action we headed for an early lunch at one of our favourite places. This place is one of my go-to’s, everything is so fresh and light plus there’s always something vegan-friendly for me to eat & their soy mochas are lush. As pictured above I had; a roasted aubergine and cauliflower flatbread with a chilli dressing, accompanied with a mixed bean quinoa salad & a tomato and broccoli puy lentil salad – delish!

After totally filling ourselves to the brim we walked the bridge! Finally. This was one of the things I planned to tick off my bucket list of before I left this city, and now I finally can. So, the bridge itself isn’t particularly exciting it’s just the main motorway that connects Dundee & Fife – but I just thought it would be a different little adventure for us. To be honest, the walk itself wasn’t as picturesque as I had imagined, I think I forgot to account for the huge amounts of traffic that mirror the pathway down the middle, but the water view was very lovely. When we got to the other side there was actually a little village where we were able to chill for a bit and have some cold lemon juice before our walk back. Writing about our day does seem like it was a little mundane, but I guess for us just getting to be together and enjoy each others company was all we needed – the sunshine and good food was just a bonus.

 

To finish off our last night together I just whipped up a spicy chilli and maple roasted sweet potato salad, with herby cous cous and beetroot and quinoa hummus. Because one heaped salad plate is never enough in one day! The rest of the evening was spent watching Netflix in bed ft. lots of cuddling (gross, sops at heart).

 

G. 

Leave a Reply

