Brunch // Vegan French Toast – Recipe

Brunch to me is thee most idealistic meal. It’s actually my favourite thing to eat out for, I always think that going anywhere at brunch o’clock has a different vibe to it – everyone is so much more upbeat, possibly because of the extra few hours in bed they didn’t have to forfeit to make a breakfast date…

My favourite thing about brunch is that it’s so casual. Nothing has to be fancy, for me it’s all about being comfortable, long conversations and great coffee. However, this little brunch setting took place in the middle of my living room floor, complete with pj’s and the night before’s messy bun.

19397760_1792424231068914_88698691_n

Before turning fully vegan (vegetarian for 10 years & then no dairy – eggs only), French toast and eggs florentine were my go-to brunch favs. So I have to admit my eating out brunch options have radically decreased since October – bar my favourite little hideaway situated in town. Therefore when I discovered that there were egg replacements to help assist with such cravings I was instantly intrigued. I have to admit I can be a big kid when it comes to trying these kinds of replacement options, and the box had been sitting in my cupboard for weeks however I bit the bullet and thought I would treat my visiting bf to a little romantic treat.

Vegan French Toast (x2)

  • 6 slices of thick white bread
  • Egg replacer (approx. 3 tbsp or as instructed)
  • Soya milk (1 & 3/4 cups)
  • Vanilla extract (1 tsp)
  • Cinnamon (1/2 tsp)
  • Maple syrup (2 tbsp)

Putting it together was pretty simple, dry ingredients first then mix in the wet. You can also use vegan butter or oil to grease the pan but I have a really good non-stick frying pan so I didn’t require this.

With our delish French toast, I served a homemade berry coulis, extra maple syrup & icing sugar just to make it look pretty. We also had fresh OJ and Illy cafetiere coffee. Being totally honest I think it tasted pretty much the same as ‘normal’ French toast, so I was very happy with the turnout and of course the perfect company I shared this delicious meal with was the cherry on top.

 

G. 

Leave a Reply

